Lowkey ft Mai Khalil – Ahmed

lowkey.jpg

One of the most powerful voices in hiphop returns.

I think the whole world was shocked, excited, happy and everything in between. When the news that Lowkey was returning to hiphop started to circulate. A man who had retired one of the strongest voices in hiphop, makes a triumphant return.

A very raw and hard hitting subject matter for Lowkey to vocalise on, but a subject that to some extent has been over looked in hiphop. Immigration and children who are dying every single day. Trying to escape war and extreme politics in their countries. Never was there a better time for a track that holds so much weight and lyrical substance. Lowkey is a voice that has really been missed in hiphop over the past few years. Blasting back on the scene with a track and video that is pure rawness and realness. Complimented by an understated vocal hook from Mai Khalil, that gives the track just the right balance of empathy.

I think the whole hiphop world, going by the reaction across social media, is over the moon that Lowkey is back. Now for how long, only time will tell! He does have a UK tour lined up so he isn’t going anywhere just yet. Lowkey welcome back to the game sir, one things for certain, you have been missed.

 

Author: DJ Myme

DJ Myme is a Turntablist, DJ Tutor, Party Rocker, Mix Cd DJ, Radio presenter, a life long music fan and all round positive guy. I was pretty much born and bred on music. Everything from Soul, Jazz, Classical, Rock, Pop you name it, it was on the stereo when I was growing up. I got into HipHop in 93/94 and the rest as they say is history! From a long haired skateboard kid growing up in Glastonbury, via Edinburgh for a few years. Now making moves in London for the last ten years and counting. My journey has been fuelled by music. I have been DJ'ing for the best part of ten years, starting of as a DMC battle DJ after smashing my way through the Scottish DMC finals, through to the London DMC finals. I turned my hand to mix cds, then radio, as well as tearing up dance floors from Edinburgh to London town then back again. Sharing the stage with everyone from Trevor Nelson to Cutmaster Swift along the way. I have passed my knowledge and skills on as a DJ tutor and I was the scratch DJ for Sky Sports, for their weekly football show "Premier League Preview". My blog here is to keep you up to date with the latest news from the urban world, reviews, write ups, features. As well as positive, mindful blogs, tell a friend to tell a friend. Beats, Rhymes and Life. Peace, Peace DJ Myme.

Leave a comment